Falling From The 30th Floor

‘OK Sarah! Let go of the rails now,” easier said than done when you’re hanging 125m above Alexanderplatz.

berlin view

My knuckles turned white as I clung desperately onto the platform. Eventually I pried my fingers away and instead held tightly onto my harness. For a few moments I swayed suspended in the sky. I watched the people below, the size of ants scurrying to and fro, hardly stopping to see where the screams were coming from.

I heard my friend shout goodbye as she pressed the release button. And I fell. 125 meters in seconds. I screamed, I laughed, I threw my arms wide feeling the air rushing between my fingers. It was exhilarating.

a long way down

Thank you Berlin.

 

Leave a Reply

